NSO Times
NSO header
NSO Masthead


ready to graduate 16x9The Norfolk Sheriff's Office is proud to congratulate and welcome the members of the 59th Basic Academy Class to our team.

The graduation ceremony for the 59th Basic Academy Class was held on Thursday, November 16, 2017 at the Norfolk Fire Rescue Training Center. The ceremony was Sheriff Baron’s first since being elected to the office on November 7th.  Deputy City Manager Michael Goldsmith (former Norfolk Police Chief) delivered the keynote speech during the ceremony.

These are the newest members of the NSO family:

  • Deputy Matthew Bellavia
  • Deputy Shanika Dudley
  • Deputy Ami Z. Edwards
  • Deputy Rashiem D. Franklin
  • Deputy Hunter Alyse Gallagher
  • Deputy Melissa L. Hernandez
  • Deputy Demetrius J. Hill
  • Deputy Dalvin J. Kinney
  • Deputy Amanda M. Klutts
  • Deputy Perry Lightfoot
  • Deputy Montreal D. Mebane
  • Deputy Andrew Minton
  • Deputy Zachary Morrison
  • Deputy Pablo Necoechea
  • Deputy Joshua Newnam
  • Deputy Kennedi C. Quick
  • Deputy Quayshaun M. Wadley
  • Deputy Dijon T. Wilson
  • Deputy Raymond A. Windley

Squad Leaders

  • Squad 1: Deputy Dijon T. Wilson
  • Squad 2: Deputy Rashiem D. Franklin
  • Squad 3: Deputy Zachary Morrison
  • Squad 4: Deputy Shanika Dudley

Class Leaders

  • President: Deputy Joshua Newnam
  • Vice President: Deputy Dalvin J. Kinney
  • Secretary: Deputy Amanda M. Klutts
  • Treasurer: Deputy Kennedi C. Quick
  • Master of Arms: Deputy Perry Lightfoot
  • Chaplain: Deputy Melissa L. Hernandez

Several graduates were singled out during the ceremony as recipients of additional recognition for their performance while attending the academy:

  • Deputy Q. Wadley – Honor Graduate Award (person who achieves overall excellence in all components of the curriculum)
  • Deputy Z. Morrison – Academic Award
  • Deputy M. Bellavia – Firearms Award
  • Deputy J. Newnam – Fitness Award
  • Deputy R. Franklin - Becky Weaver Award (This award is named in memory of Lieutenant Becky Weaver - a long-time NSO employee who succumbed to cancer about a decade ago. It is given to the person who demonstrates motivational excellence to his/her peers while attending the academy.) 

When you meet our new deputies, please take a minute to welcome them to the NSO family.

We also want to recognize the people who do such a great job of preparing our recruits for their new careers:

Norfolk Sheriff's Office Training Academy Staff

  • Captain Brad Ward: Officer in Charge of Training
  • Sergeant Jacob Noggle: Executive Officer/K-9
  • Master Deputy Angela Tardy: Lead Instructor
    • Sergeant Xavier Kent: Instructor
    • Corporal Gregory Gill: Instructor
    • Corporal Rhiannon McFerren: Instructor
  • Jill H. Darden: Training Records Manager

  • Ready To Graduate

    Ready To Graduate

  • Gradutes Marching In

    Gradutes Marching In

  • Deputy Newman Recieves His Fitness Award

    Deputy Newman Recieves His Fitness Award

  • Deputy Franklin - Recipient of the Becky Weaver Award

    Deputy Franklin - Recipient of the Becky Weaver Award


Click to download the print version of NSO Times

NSO Times 06 07 18 FINAL

Hard copy version available in the Administration Office, 140 East Street

Past Issues

Staff Birthdays


W. Abourjilie
L. Brown
T. Cartwright
A. Chatman
K. Childers
C. Cisneros
T. Clarke
C. Claxton
L. Cottrell
W. Crocker
K. Crocker
J. Darden
A. Davis
A. Decker
K. Donely
K. Dou-Kebei
E. Douglas
Q. Fane
L. Garrett
N. Glass
M. Hernandez
T. Hughes
S. Jackson
W. Johnson
E. Johnson
A. Joseph
D. Lammay
M. Lemke
T. Lindquist
T. Liverman
C. Long
A. McNeil
A. Perino
V. Rader
R. Shepherd
N. Simpson
M. Sims
C. Stec
S. Terry
R. Thomas
F. Thomas
R. Wamsley
B. Ward
J. Willis
D. Wilson
P. Yelity

Subscribe to the digital version of NSO Times

hampton roads best place
V3 2

Get In Touch

  • 811 E. City Hall Avenue
    Norfolk, VA 23510

  • (757) 664-4700

  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.