NSO Times
NSO header
NSO Masthead


LGBT LiasonsThe Norfolk Sheriff's Office takes pride in being a progressive organization that provides an inclusive work environment and a diverse staff. Over the years, the NSO has built a solid relationship between the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) community.

Continuing that relationship, Sheriff Joe Baron proudly announced in February the implementation of an on-staff LGBT liaison, Lieutenant Meryah Breeden. Corporal Xavier Kent will support her as the assistant LGBT liaison. Sheriff Baron is the first sheriff in Hampton Roads to initiate this type of position, which is similar to others recently created by police departments across the country.

On top of their normal duties, Lieutenant Breeden’s and Corporal Kent's roles will include serving as spokespeople for the NSO to local LGBT demographics, represent LGBT interests to the leaders of the NSO, as well as promoting the organization as a safe, hostile-free environment to work in, regardless of sexual orientation.

inmate readingHere at the Norfolk Sheriff's Office, we strive to provide every resource possible to help our inmates reenter the community with a clear path towards leading a law-abiding and productive lifestyle.

We especially feel our efforts are worthwhile when a previously incarcerated individual is never again placed in our custody.

The community has much to offer our inmates in terms of familiarizing them with the skills and qualities which will help them succeed. We strongly encourage people who wish to help us help our inmates to volunteer to share their skills and insights with those who can benefit from them the most.

These are some of the areas of insight/expertise we wish to have shared with our inmates:

NSO Times 02 2017 thumb

We hear you, NSO!

Although the digital version of the NSO Times has been well recieved and seems to be pretty popular, many NSO employees, as well as others, have expressed a wish to have a printed version of the NSO Times that they can read away from a computer or mobile device. 

So by popular demand, we've brought back the print version of the NSO Times, and even updated the look a bit.

You can pick up a copy of this month's edition of the NSO Times at the NSO Administration Building, 140 East Street.

You can also download your own PDF version by clicking on the image in the right hand column.

If you like getting your information digitally and are not currently subscribed to the digital edition, we also invite anyone to do so on the NSO Times page. There's a subscription form a little lower down in the right hand columns.

And, oh... By the way. We're always looking for submissions of articles, photos, videos, etc. from employees and members of the community.


The NSO Times Staff

IMG 0676Over the past few weeks, Sheriff Baron has started getting invitations to civic league meetings all across Norfolk. He has about 2 per week scheduled well into the spring months.

"I'm excited to meet them all," Baron said. "Although I already know many civic leaders, I look forward to talking to them specifically about the needs of the neighborhoods they represent."

If you'd like Sheriff Baron to come speak to your civic league, please contact julia dunn at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

What a surprise! The NSO Admin Building received a visit for “Random Acts of Kindness Week” from the Downtown Norfolk Council. They delivered a tray of Jimmy John's subs to thank us for our service.

Pictured with Chief of Staff Lt. Col. O’Toole, Lt. Freeman, and Lt. Campbell are Ernest Allen, Lead Supervisor, Downtown Norfolk and Bobby Turner, Ambassador.

Their note said: “Enjoy lunch from the downtown Norfolk Council as a small thank you for all you do for downtown and the community."

Thank you for making our day, Downtown Norfolk Council!

jimmy johns gift web


award sealThe VFW Tidewater Post 4809 will hold a ceremony to recognize Deputy Dennis Brown on March 23, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. at the post located at 5728 Bartee Street, Norfolk. Deputy Brown had previously been announced as their Deputy Sheriff of the Year.

This is the narrative describing why he was chosen for the award:

On Saturday November 12, 2016, Deputy Dennis Brown was off-duty at home enjoying his day off with his family when he was alerted by his wife that their neighbor’s house appeared to be on fire.

Click to download the print version of NSO Times

NSO Times 04 18 FINAL v3

Hard copy version available in the Administration Office, 140 East Street

Staff Birthdays


J. Ashley
T. Boclair
C. Boyd
C. Burniske
K. Campbell
P. Chumpitaz
R. Cleek
M. Conklin
K. Corillo
D. Cress
S. Cuffee
D. Curry
R. Davis
C. Eichelberger
B. French
D. Hill
G. Hoggard
T. Hollenquest
B. Hooker
D. Kinney
A. Kuhn
M. Laporte
M. Lewis
W. Middleton
D. Mitchell
L. Morrow
R. Parker
R. Sumerlin
R. Trevena
K. Waheed
C. Walz
C. Williams
C. Wilson
J. Zirpoli

Subscribe to the digital version of NSO Times

hampton roads best place
V3 2

Get In Touch

  • 811 E. City Hall Avenue
    Norfolk, VA 23510

  • (757) 664-4700

  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.